raylib»Forums
Ray
62 posts / 1 project
I like videogames/gametools development.
rRES - raylib resources custom fileformat
Edited by Ray on
By default, raylib supports the following file formats for resources:

- IMAGE (Uncompressed): PNG, BMP, TGA, JPG, GIF, HDR (stb_image.h)
- IMAGE (Compressed): DDS, PKM, KTX, PVR, ASTC
- AUDIO (Sound): WAV, OGG (stb_vorbis.c), FLAC (dr_flac.h)
- AUDIO (Streaming): OGG, FLAC, XM (jar_xm.h), MOD (jar_mod.h)
- FONTS: BMFont (FNT), TTF (stb_truetype.h), IMAGE-based
- MODEL (Mesh + Material): OBJ, MTL

Since raylib 1.0, I also added support for a custom fileformat: RRES

At that moment (3 years ago) I didn't have the same experience than now and so,
I decided to redesign it to be more generic, versatil and useful (but keeping it simple):

I'm not an expert designing file formats so I'd appreciate any feedback about it.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
What does "RSA" means for crypto type? You cannot encrypt arbitrary large data with rsa. You typically encrypt stream cipher key (AES) with RSA and then use stream cipher to encrypt rest of data. So you need place to store encrypted AES key as part of data.

Using juts unauthenticated crypto algorithm (AES/XOR/Blowfish) is a bad idea. Always use authentication - something like HMAC or GCM block mode. So you'll need place for signature. Alternatively don't roll out your own crypto and take good high-level implementation - nacl (or libsodium) which is proven to be resistent to crypto attacks (for example its code doesn't use data dependent branches). Instead of ancient blowsfish I would take much more modern crypto primitives - Salsa20 or ChaCha20 for stream cipher and poly1305 for authentication, both of them can implemented very efficiently in software.

I would include also zstd for compression. It is from same author as lz4, but offers faster performance and more compression than lz4 or even zlib.